FSM Brownsville Depot - 2021 Build Challenge

Started by swisstrain, February 01, 2021, 03:25:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

swisstrain

Ok, I guess this is my contribution to the 2021 build challenge.  I have never done a build thread, so this is my first attempt to chronicle the building of a craftsman kit.  There will be some time from post to post, since my modeling is mostly done on weekends (with my full-time job interfering).

I am building a freelanced railroad set somewhere in 1910-1930s, in an approximately 5x9 corner in one of the spare bedrooms used otherwise as an office.  I will go into a bit more detail about my layout in a later post.  In essence, it is an oval (so I can watch trains running) with a branch that leads to a mine.

I decided that my pike needed a depot, and I have an FSM Brownsville Depot in my stash, so that is what I chose to do as my next project. Since I enjoy lighting my buildings, I have to include at least a partial interior. I won't go through the painting, construction of the outside building walls, etc., since that is covered in some other build threads, but provide a few details on how I built the interior.

First, I decided on how to lay out the first floor, with an office in the center, and waiting rooms to either side.

The larger waiting room to the left will be L-shaped, due to the newsstand (see later).  The rear won't be visible, and it is sort of a "hallway". The floor was fabricated from stain scribed basswood, the walls from micro plywood. The notches in the floor are to accommodate the wall bracing (in the corners) and the doors along the walls.  The floor will rest on the bracing along the bottom of the walls.

Team Track Models https://www.teamtrackmodels.com/ has a cardboard depot kit with interior wall details, and I cannibalized those walls to represent the interior walls of my depot.