Author Topic: Adding track to diorama for future use  (Read 362 times)

Slappy Mac

  • Just Starting
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Adding track to diorama for future use
« on: November 25, 2017, 03:06:19 PM »
Greetings...first post ever! Found the forum through a link at the FSM site, looks like a great resource for knowledge.

Having acquired a few FSM structures over the years, I finally started to find the time to build as my kids got older and life calmed down some. Starting with George Bailey's produce, photo of progress so far attached.

Here's my question: The time has come to put down track for the siding. Ultimately, I'll want to include the structure on my layout (still early stages, only have benchwork topped with foam, hopefully will start laying track this winter).

How best to have the track at the end that I'll want to connect with the main layout? Of course I'll have a bumper at one end, so that's easy, but should I lay track to the very edge? Should I remove a few ties now? Better to leave the track a bit short of the edge and bring a bit of rail from the eventual siding onto the diorama?

Kind of a weird first question, I realize, but I honestly have no idea what's the best approach so would appreciate any suggestions or words of wisdom.

Cheers!
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 03:12:49 PM by Slappy Mac »

SteveCuster

  • One Hundred Post Club
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2017, 04:19:27 PM »
Hi Mac,

I run the track right up to the edge of the diorama but I remove a few ties so I can add the joiners later. I build all my major structures as dioramas and install them on the later after. It's so much easier to detail at the bench for me.

-Steve


Slappy Mac

  • Just Starting
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2017, 04:39:40 PM »
Steve (actually my real name too!):

Thanks, that's kind of what I was thinking, but nice to hear confirmation from someone who's been here.

bparrish

  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 1884
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2017, 05:18:32 PM »
Steve. ....

Make it look good and correct for now and modify as necessary later. 

See ya
Bob
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 11:05:58 PM by bparrish »
All it takes to start and insane asylum is a big room and the right kind of people.

GPdemayo

  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 3345
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2017, 10:40:16 PM »
Welcome to the forum Steve.....good looking kit build.  8)
Gregory P. DeMayo
General Construction Superintendent Emeritus
St. Louis & Denver Railroad
Longwood, FL

ACL1504

  • T-Shirt - FORUM SPONSOR
  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *
  • Posts: 11125
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2017, 08:56:00 AM »
Mac,

I agree with Steve. The missing ties can be added when the diorama is added to the layout.

And, welcome to the forum.

Tom ;D
If you hate plan A, you are certainly not going to like plan B!

Tom Langford
telsr1@aol.com

PRR Modeler

  • Modeling the Pennsy
  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 1029
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2017, 09:35:50 AM »
Very nice build and welcome to the forum.
Curt Webb
The Late Great Pennsylvania Railroad
Freelanced PRR Bellevue Subdivision

engine909

  • One Hundred Post Club
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2017, 12:34:23 PM »
Steve, You did a great job with that kit.
ed

jimmillho

  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2017, 12:37:30 PM »
Steve, Great job on the kit and Welcome to the forum

Jim
Some people hear voices, others have no imagination at all

S&S RR

  • T-Shirt - FORUM SPONSOR
  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *
  • Posts: 9818
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2017, 10:11:02 PM »
Mac


Great looking build - and welcome to the forum. We look forward to seeing your future work. As for the track work - when I don't know how a build is going to fit into the layout I add the section right beside the loading dock and leave space for the rest until I install it on the layout. I think it all depends on how you will use the diorama before installing it.  If you want to show it at a convention then you need to take your best guess and finish it.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2017, 08:03:57 PM by S&S RR »
John Siekirk
Superior & Seattle Railroad

Zephyrus52246

  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2017, 02:02:20 PM »
Welcome to the forum, Steve.  I placed my track between the building loading dock and the external dock.  Long enough for one boxcar.  Your building looks great!


Jeff

ReadingBob

  • T-Shirt - FORUM SPONSOR
  • Modeler's Hero 500+ Posts
  • *
  • Posts: 2680
  • Karma: +3/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2017, 03:44:08 PM »
Welcome to the forum Steve!  Great looking build.   :)  Yours too Dr. Jeff.   ;)

This one is the next one up in my queue.  I'm not sure if it's going to remain a produce distributor or if it's going to turn into something else.  That's pending a decision by the future owner.   :D
Bob Butts
robertbutts1@att.net

There's a fine line between Hobby and Mental Illness.

jbvb

  • Senior Poster 250+
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Modeling the B&M's Eastern Route in HO 1950 - 1965
    • View Profile
    • New England RR History & Modeling Info
Re: Adding track to diorama for future use
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2017, 10:10:10 PM »
It's usually smoother to have rails continuous over a joint in the roadbed than to have a rail joint right above the roadbed joint. And rail joints are smoother when staggered 1/2 inch or more.
James

 

SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal