Davis Island Terminal (AKA Red Hook Wharf)

Started by rrkreitler, January 04, 2014, 01:04:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rrkreitler

Ok let's see how this goes. This is my first project posting so please excuse any editorial gaffes if this posting doesn't render as expected...

First a bit of intro to the entire project and then I will get on with the procedural info.
Project Intro:
This is the first structure for an N scale layout that is being built in a friend's garage. This is the first real project I have worked on in a couple years and I am working at getting my chops back up to snuff. My friend's layout consists of a couple sections attached to the walls and then a number of modules that get setup to facilitate operations. I want to treat each module as a diorama. This will help scope each section of the work and I think it will enhance the quality of the scenery work because it will allow more focus on each scene.

My friend's interest is primarily operation and one thing we decided on was a waterfront scene to facilitate car ferry operations and immediately the Red Hook kit came to mind. I have wanted to build this model ever since I first saw it on the FOS website. I just didn't have anywhere to put it. My friend's water front was the perfect excuse to build it. Two small flaws in this plan though.... First, the kit was sold out, and second, FOS only makes HO kits. So I did what any dedicated N scaler would do and decided to scratch build the wharf based on all the photos I could get my hands on.