Keep It Rusty- Scrap Merchant’s Place build

Started by restocarp, August 27, 2024, 06:06:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

restocarp

For a while now, I haven't built many kits. I scratchbuild almost exclusively, enjoying the challenges, creativity and custom results that building from scratch provides. But when Craig posted his Keep it Simple kits, I knew I needed to get one. And, of course, add my own twist to it.
IMG_6054.jpeg
Matt

restocarp

I began by cleaning the main casting and priming it with red oxide primer. This is my first time working with what is basically a finished printed building. The prints are very nice. There was no prep needed other than some sanding on the base get it closer to flat. I did this with sandpaper on a steel machine table.

IMG_6560.jpeg

Matt

restocarp

I want this building to sit on an elevation and to have an addition, so I glued some cereal box cardboard around the interior perimeter and braced it with strip wood. I created wall templates for the addition foundation as well. These were the base for pink foam individual stones to create the full thickness walls.

IMG_6562.jpeg

More soon,
Matt

Vietnam Seabee

I gonna grab a front row seat on this one. I got my box of popcorn and a Dr Pepper waiting for the next segment of Matt's build
terry

Zephyrus52246

Keep It Rusty

I'll have to elbow my way in for a front seat, too.

Really fantastic start, Matt. I already know it's going to be a great one.

ACL1504

"If we are to guard against ignorance and remain free, it is the responsibility of every American to be informed."
Thomas Jefferson

Tom Langford
telsr1@aol.com

Jerry

I might as well squeeze in there someplace.  Your off to a good build there.
Really like those pink foam stones!

Jerry
"And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years." A. Lincoln

GPdemayo

Nice looking structure Matt.....I'll be looking in.  :)
Gregory P. DeMayo
General Construction Superintendent Emeritus